Dressmaking in my spare time: the Emery Dress by Christine Haynes

Hello!I’ve been meaning to share my experience of making the Emery Dress by Christine Haynes for a while but had not got round to taking any photos (actually I was over-due a haircut and was too vain to take photos before it!).
 
I bought the pattern last summer from the Eternal Maker, after seeing it on one of my favourite dressmakers on Instagram, Hannah Fellows. It looked like the perfect dress shape I’d been looking for: fitted bodice, little sleeves, a skirt with a bit of swish to it, and pockets! After a bit of research online about making the dress, where reviews were very complimentary, I thought my skills would be up to it.

  
I used a grey dobby spot cotton from Abakhan, and lined it with some purple cotton lawn I bought years ago from John Lewis. The pattern suggests a 3m piece of fabric will be needed, I only had 2m, but I had no problems fitting all the pattern pieces on. I made the dress in US size 8. 

The instructions are clear and simple to follow, and I also had no problems with the fit- hurray! This was my first attempt at lining a bodice, and it was actually pretty easy. I would possibly add even more fullness to the skirt if I was to make it for a special occasion. I also really like the in-seam pockets, which I lined with the purple lawn too for a flash of colour. This really impressed my four year old son! 

  
I’ve already cut out the pieces for another Emery Dress, in vicose navy with white spots which will be lovely and light for summer, and I have some BEAUTIFUL Liberty Tana Lawn lined up as well. I think I might end up with a whole wardrobe of Emery Dresses. If only there was less housework and more hours in the day to sew…

Teresa X 

My necklace is by Layla Amber

2 thoughts on “Dressmaking in my spare time: the Emery Dress by Christine Haynes

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

