Me Made May 2016- I’m taking part! 

Hello!This year I’ve signed up to take part in Me Made May! Me Made May is an online event where dressmakers around the world pledge to wear pieces of their handmade wardrobe and share what they have made. Participants decide how to take part in their own way- by wearing handmade clothes every day, once a week, finishing off a half made item, sharing their clothes daily via social media etc. It was created in 2010 by Zoe Edwards and since since joining Instagram a couple of years ago I’ve wanted to take part. If you’d like to read more about Me Made May 16 click here or the #MMM16 button at the top right of the page! 


I’m excited and nervous in equal measures… My pledge is to wear one item of hand made ‘me-made’ clothing everyday, to be shared in a weekly blog post, and also to wear handmade accessories everyday too. I wear some of my handmade clothes a lot, by wearing something I’ve made everyday I’m hoping to get out some items that maybe haven’t been out of my wardrobe in a while and see what gaps there are in my handmade wardrobe. I’ve started my week with my Navy Polka Dot Emery Dress, my hand made Crochet African Flower Bag and my fabulous Sewing Basket Necklace by Lucy of Smile and Make


Since starting to make my own clothes more and more in the last couple of years I’ve bought less from the shops. Basic jersey and knitwear items are the things I’ve bought most of, I haven’t really tackled sewing much with jersey yet. However producing my own clothing has made me think more and more about ethically produced clothing, and slow fashion. I’ve never been much of a trend follower, and like to wear clothes and accessories unique to me- shopping in vintage shops, charity shops and buying from designer makers has always appealed to me. I’m hoping to showcase some of my favourite designer makers by sharing photos of my jewellery during MMM. 


I’ll be sharing photos on Instagram throughout May too. I’m also hoping that watching the Great British Sewing Bee will give me some ideas and tips too (I can’t wait for it to start on Thursday!) My final challenge for May is to finish the Emery Dress I have cut out by my birthday at the end of the month,and wear it on my birthday! It’s a gorgeous Liberty Tana Lawn, that I bought with birthday money from last year so it’s about time I got it finished!

As ever I’d love to hear what you think so please leave a comment for me, especially if you are taking part in MMM16 too!

Teresa X 

4 thoughts on “Me Made May 2016- I’m taking part! 

  1. Love your first outfit and feeling very chuffed to see my necklace worn with your beautiful polka dot Emery. Can’t wait to see your birthday Liberty dress, it sounds dreamy! Look forward to seeing the rest of your outfits x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always get lots of lovely compliments wearing this necklace, and it usually sparks a lovely sewing conversation too! I thought it was the perfect start to a sewing themed month! Xx

      Like

  2. I love the Sewing Bee! Thanks for the reminder that it starts soon.
    I heard about MMM last year. It’s a great idea and I look forward to seeing your posts/IG about it. I might also make more of an effort; get motivated to sort out some sewing! Thanks. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so excited about the Sewing Bee…. More than a sensible grown woman should be anyway! It always motivates me to start new stuff, although I never seem to get it finished before the series ends… Xx

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

