Week 3 of Me Made May 16

Hello!
Week 3 of Me Made May has been and gone, so here’s a round up of my hand made outfits…


Cotton Lawn Clemence Skirt from Love at First Stitch by Tilly Walnes, and a crocheted flower on my sun hat. 


This dress is a special refashion I’ve been doing battle with! The dress was originally worn by my aunty at my parents wedding nearly 34 years ago! My mother gave me the dress a couple of years ago when she had a sort out, and I wore it to a friends wedding. It was a full length dress, which made it tricky for every day use (ie the school run) so after asking permission to refashion it, here it is! I’ve let the seams out a bit, (which means I can now eat when I wear it) however that caused an unforeseen fitting problem- the back bodice was too long. This helpful blog post showed me how to sort that out, and I’m now thrilled with this dress, I can see it being worn a lot more now.


This shirt was made a few years ago when I did a dressmaking course. It took me about 8 months to make… And I absolutely hated it by the end. So it’s never been worn much, although I couldn’t chuck it out after so much effort was put into it! I much prefer it with the sleeves rolled up and the little collar turned down, which I’d not tried before, so maybe I’ll be wearing it a bit more now.


Thursday saw my grey dobby spot / Swiss dot Emery dress with my Sewing Basket necklace by Lucy from Smile and Make.


One of my favourites tops is this Silk Cami by Sew Over It, in the same navy viscose as my Emery Dress. Worn with jade green cords by Boden and my fab Gold Pineapple necklace by You Make Me Design.


Cotton Lawn Top from my Bettine Dress pattern, by Tilly and the Buttons. My badge says Drink Tea and Read Books, and is by Fable and Black.


And finally, my self drafted Sound of Music Skirt, so called because it reminds me of the clothes Maria makes for the children out of curtains! I’m really pleased with how this turned out. The fabric is a polycotton from Fabric Godmother and is quite stiff, which gives it a lovely fullness when it’s gathered at the waist. It doesn’t crease much either which is always good! 

One more week left, and I still haven’t finished my Liberty Emery Dress I promised myself I’d finish by my birthday, better get a move on!

Teresa X 

3 thoughts on “Week 3 of Me Made May 16

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

