Creative time and recent commissions

Hello,

I’ve recently been feeling in a bit of a funny mood creatively, which is starting to do my head in!  I think it has a lot to do with my very limited time to make stuff, leaving me with too many works in progress and no time to work on them.  As the summer holidays are now upon us I think that is only going to get worse.  My three year old daughter has stopped napping in the day too, which is lovely to spend more time with her but also a teeny bit frustrating… As she is off to pre-school nursery in September I need to appreciate my time with her, not be grumpy, but I am looking forward to having undistracted time to make every morning! (Not sure if undistracted is actually a proper word…) 


Anyway, lack of making time aside, I thought I’d share a couple of recent commissions, both crochet ones. I was asked by a lovely fellow folksy seller to make some Crochet Picture Frames in cream cotton. It was a real pleasure to make these, and has inspired me to make some sets of single colour frames for my Folksy shop. When I get the time! I think these would look lovely framing candid wedding photos.


I also made a Crocheted Bag for my auntie. The pattern is from the book Crochet in No Time by Melanie Griffiths. I think this is my most challenging crochet project to date. I’m not sure I got the gusset right, and I only made one handle (with my Auntie’s permission!) as it drove me potty, 7 double crochet stitches in a spiral for 40cms! I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out and my auntie looked beautiful in her mother of the groom outfit for my cousins wedding. Even though I’ve stalked my family’s Facebook pages I can’t find a photo of her wearing it! If I do I will share it. 


And before I forget, these are the coasters I made for my mother’s birthday! From the book 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks by Betty Barnden. 

Have a good week! 

Teresa xx

6 thoughts on “Creative time and recent commissions

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

