2016 and onwards

Happy Christmas everyone, I hope you’ve all had a lovely break.  
It’s that time of year to make resolutions and reflect on the year before etc etc, and that usually means giving myself a hard time for what I’ve not achieved… 

However, last year’s resolution was to stress less. I’m not sure how well that held up during the political turmoil and general craziness that happened in 2016, but on a personal level I think I achieved it. I had a lot of plans for Shirley Rainbow this year, of which hardly any actually happened. I’m trying not to give myself a hard time though, it’s hard to plan sometimes when you have small children, and as they are only little once (to quote a good friend) so I’m trying to enjoy that as much as possible. I’ve even embraced doing crafty and creative projects with them…. Honestly, I find it so hard to do! I’m trying my best though as there is virtually no time for creativity in the school curriculum, and surely as a qualified crafty mum I can provide that at home. At least it justifies trips to Hobbycraft….. 


Granny Triangle Shawl 2016

Right, onwards to 2017. I’ve just made a list of all my dressmaking plans for next year that already have fabric for, patterns for and just need the time to make them!  I’m looking forward to get my teeth into that but I’m not going to give myself a hard time if it doesn’t get done as quickly as I’d like. I’m going to a wedding in February and it would be lovely to wear some thing I’ve made! Crochet wise, I’d like to make a jumper or cardi this year. I just have to decide which one I’d like to attempt. And maybe another shawl. There’s something so cozy about wearing one. 


Some fabric awaiting my attention …

In my folksy shop I have been doing lots of drawings and doodles for new products, which is exciting ( well it is for me! ) and when the kids are back at school next week I’ll be gathering materials and having a little play around. I’m looking forward to having a new year spring clean and sort out.

So for a New Years resolution for 2017? Maybe procrastinate less?! Be a bit more organised too… There’s no snappy little phrase springing to mind. I’m sure it will!
So on that note, I’d like to wish you all a very Happy (and creative!) New Year, to followers new and old,

Love Teresa xx

6 thoughts on “2016 and onwards

  1. Happy New Year Teresa!
    I never make new year resolutions , I think they are pointless as I always break them within days!! But I do want to get back to being healthy & get back to my running.

    I know what you mean about the kids and your friend is right they are only small once, my oldest has been diagnosed with asd which was a hard road for us as services are so hard to get but onwards we go, he’s my main focus. Trying to not stress on the etsy shop either , I over think things way tooooo much!

    I’d love to crochet clothes but never have gotten that far maybe 2017 will be the year!

    That turned into a bit of a rant 😊😛 more positivity for 2017 !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy new year Maura!

      That wasn’t a rant at all… Sometimes you just have a thought and it helps to get it written out!

      My resolutions are vague at best, I only do it to try and encourage myself to make a positive change. Somethings work better than others, stressing less last year (or reminding myself to) helped to make me less irritated and grumpy I think. My husband may beg to differ!

      I’m wishing you all the best with your little one and the asd. And a big hug for you xxx

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

