Granny Squares, Stars and Circles

Well the end of January is nigh, and I thought I’d share a little crafty catch up with you all. I’ve been adding a few new handmade bits to my Folksy shop over the last week or so. One of the perks of this job is that I test out all my ideas – particularly jewellery- on myself and wear a test piece so I can see how well it works and if it needs any tweaks. After some ‘rigorous testing’ with a navy version I made a collection of these star necklaces in some juicy colours. 
They are hand stitched to a felt backing for extra sturdiness, and are attached with jump rings to gold or silver plated chains. (Link to Shirley Rainbow shop here.)

While I was making these necklaces I got a bit distracted by the colours and made this necklace too, and after lots of lovely comments on Instagram I’ve decided to make this style of necklace for my shop too! It would be made to order, and I’m going to try out some different colour ways too, soon. (Shop link as above.)

I’ve been playing around with the crocheted picture frames I made a while back. I was really pleased with how these have turned out, and I’ll hopefully make a few more for my shop too. If you have any ideas for words to stitch please let me know!! 


I’ve started a new crochet project for myself too. I had a mad session on Pinterest a few weeks back, where I was searching for crochet clothing. Well I found this picture: 


Image from Kitsch Bitch via Pinterest here.

I love it!!!!! And so with some odd balls of Drops Karisma I’ve started to make a granny square coat. Eeeek! I’m stupidly excited by it. 

And finally, I’ve nearly finished my first Betty Dress, by Sew Over It. I’m a bit in love with this fabric too. I might wear my granny square coat with it one day……..!

Teresa X 

10 thoughts on “Granny Squares, Stars and Circles

  1. I love those necklaces, such a great idea, why didnt I think of it ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was trying to make earrings with crochet, now you have inspired me I will have to get onto it.

    I love that dress and scarf combo, great colours, would it fit me ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The circles necklace is an absolute winner. I love it. And the dress/scarf combo delights me. I haven’t sewn a grament in ages. Maybe I should try crocheting myself something. A granny square coat?! I love that idea. Yours is going to look fab!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!

      I’m pleased with the dress, I’m planning on wearing it to a wedding next month, and I’m debating whether to get a swooshy petticoat to go under…. But I don’t fancy making that! X

      Like

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

