Making a crochet jumper

Making an item of crochet clothing was one of my aims for this year, and I’ve done it! I wanted to go for something fairly straightforward and decided that the crochet top from Mollie Makes Magazine, issue 53, by Anna Wilkinson from the book Learn to Crochet, Love to Crochet, might be the one to start with. I couldn’t get hold of the yarn that was suggested in the pattern, but it does say any similar Aran wool superwash would do. I decided on King Cole Merino Blend Aran, in Raspberry, which apparently is anti tickle so I should be able to wear it next to my skin. 
Making the top was really straight forward, as I had hoped. I made it in size 12, but the length for size 8 in the longer length version. The body has no shaping, it’s just at the arms and neck. I only did one round of trebles at the neck, the pattern says three, as it was a bit too high on my neck. The shoulders fit perfectly, although further down I’m getting used to the boxy fit. It’s a pretty substantial top, it’s nice and chunky and feels very warm on but it’s quite heavy too! Seeing as I’m a chilly sort of person- I can always feel a draught- I think a woolly t-shirt will suit me just fine. It’s the first time I’ve sewn up a crochet garment and doing the sleeves were a bit tricky, as you have to ease the body not the sleeves (which is the opposite of dressmaking!) but I managed it second time round! I’ll definitely make more crocheted clothes. 


I’m also wearing a self drafted hand made circle skirt, which I love! It’s made with some poly/cotton/acrylic mix I bought from my local market for £1.50 a metre! Perfect for a fabric greedy skirt like this. I feel a bit like I could fit in at Hogwarts when I’m wearing it, I’m channeling my inner Professor Snape! I like the skirt with the top, it’s an outfit I feel rather happy in. Now I just need some warmer weather to wear it! 

Teresa

Yarn bought at Wool Warehouse, Scissor Necklace by n0meo 

10 thoughts on “Making a crochet jumper

    1. Thanks Maura!
      It was a really simple pattern, and worked up fairly quickly on the Aran yarn. It’s a lot thicker than a hand knit tho, it’s a super toasty top! If you want a copy of the pattern I’d be happy to send it over to you xx

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

