Sherwood Art Week Round Up

I’m sharing photos of Sherwood Art Week today. It was a fun week and the area looked great. There was yarn bombing – I really liked this installation outside the library under a silver birch tree.
My kids loved the hungry caterpillar bunting, and this tree decorated by lots of local knitters and crocheters. 


The shops of Sherwood were fantastic as a street long art gallery. This is a selection of some of my favourite displays. 

Top left: Sophie Robins Mosaics
Top right: Natalie Randall

Bottom left: Katie Pinkney, Molly’s Mum Textiles

Bottom right: Dawn Feeney

I love the Grayson Perry bunting by Dolly Loves Dallas. The whole display was fantastic!

I really enjoyed seeing such a wide range of art and crafts on display, it’s amazing to think that all the artists are local to Sherwood and there is so much diverse talent. 
We took a short trip to the Secret Garden Craft Fair, we were there pretty early but it looked set to be a great day. 

I went to the Courtyard Craft Fair the following week and had a good giggle at Faye Finney’s  stall, this is the card I bought for a friend, there was a lot of other cards which I found very funny (Justin Beaver is one I remember!) I also bought a little cactus from Laura at Little Egg Design (who recognised me from Instagram, I felt famous!) 


We had a pit stop at the Remarkable Recycling Gala, I didn’t get much chance to look at stalls due to a worn out 4yr old, however the entrance to the church where the gala was held was decorated by the Sherwood Young Artists group. I was very impressed by this screen- it’s all tissue paper and plastic but looks like stained glass. 


Outside were lots of garlands of recycled paper origami shapes, very pretty and such a simple idea. 


The whole event was great, and I’m looking forward to next year, the 10th anniversary, already! 
Teresa 

7 thoughts on “Sherwood Art Week Round Up

  1. Looks great Teresa ! All so lovely. I looked up Natalie Randall, she does great dinosaurs, my two were very impressed.

    All so different, you are lucky to have something like that near you and all that talent!

    Like

  2. oh, you’re local to me! I went to the Secret Courtyard craft fair, we had a really nice day. It was great walking round seeing art in the shops too but I was disappointed that all the workshops and activities were during the day as i work full time.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

