September Craftiness

I thought I’d share a mid September catch up on some crafty bits I’ve been working on recently. I had hoped to share an exciting project I’ve been working on but sadly I’m not able to yet- hopefully soon! 
I finished the Floral Fields embroidery design by ThreadFolk.  I thoroughly enjoyed stitching this, it uses surprisingly simple stitches but the overall effect is beautiful and complex. I’m decorating my living room next week and it will be given pride of place in my newly decorated room. I’ve been eyeing up some of the amazing free embroidery patterns available at DMC for my next project. I’ve not really done many embroidery patterns designed by others before, as a qualified embroidery designer I should be able to do them myself I suppose! However for an easy project to pick up in the evening it’s ideal, as all the hard part of designing is done for me.


As the weather here in England has turned decidedly autumnal I’ve been thinking about gloves and scarves and hats. I’ve made a one colour version of the Autumn Vintage fingerless mitts by Rosina of Zeens and Roger, using some Hobbycraft Women’s Institute Soft and Smooth Tweed. This is a really lovely Aran weight yarn, it really is very soft, almost a silky texture. The slubs through the yarn give a tweedy texture without any roughness, and the mustard colour is spot on. Why does this yarn not come in more colours?! Even though I completely botched up the pattern (I worked in the round despite the instructions clearly telling me to TURN….) I’m very pleased with how they have turned out. I’m not sure what else I will make with the yarn, I’ve got about 350g of it left! 


I’ve been working on a few new pieces for my shop, particularly to take to a charity craft fair I did last weekend. Sadly the weather was pretty horrific- beautiful sunshine all morning which lured us into thinking it would be nice all day but instead it turned very windy and we had several downpours of rain- I do hope the fundraising was successful. 


Last but not least I can share this piece of embroidery my mother in law asked me to to do for a recently bereaved close friend. I was so pleased that both of them liked it, it was a pleasure to make it. 


Til next time

Teresa 

14 thoughts on “September Craftiness

I'd love to hear any comments you have!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.